#SippyTimeBeer Review

Abita Brew Kettle Founders

Abita Brewing CompanySatsuma Harvest Wit – I learned what a satsuma is this weekend.  It’s the name for a tangerine since it was originally from the Satsuma province of Japan. The good folks from Abita Springs, LA got a hold of them for a very refreshing beer. I’m not one for summer shandies because I think they get heavy handed in the fruit department. This beer left just enough orange flavor on my palate. It was a nice change after drinking a rye beer, which I won’t review today. Abita makes good products so go out there and hunt this one down.

The Brew KettleLake BeErie – This beer is from Strongsville, OH which is west of my old stomping grounds at Kent. As far as I can tell, the distribution is just in Ohio and specifically for their Taproom and Brewhouse. This beer has confirmed something that I’ve been thinking since starting these reviews, I’m not a big pilsner fan. They’re just there. It’s hard to describe something that goes in and out almost as smoothly as water. I’m not the biggest fan of “cute” names especially when you look at the map and still see a solid 30-45 minute drive from Strongsville to Lake Erie. For a pilsner, I’d pick this one over the Victory Prima Pils though.

Founders Brewing CompanyPorter – It’s billed as dark, rich and sexy. I can agree on the first two parts. The last part might happen if you have enough of them at the bar and you strap on your beer goggles. This porter is dark and rich enough to drink like a stout. They say there’s chocolate and caramel (also called crystal) malt. I didn’t taste much of the chocolate but I did taste the toffee flavor which to me is more like a coffee flavor. Here’s TheFullPint review. They’re out of Grand Rapids, MI and have a find it search for their products in your area. There isn’t anything too fancy to this porter and that makes it just right to drink, hopefully in your area. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

