#SippyTimeBeer Review – Otto’s Pub & Brewery

Ottos Beers

When I went back to Altoona, PA for my father’s 70th birthday party, I wanted to snag some beers that I couldn’t get here in Columbus. The task proved tougher than I thought. Yuengling made the trip across the border a bit over a year ago. I went to the best place fro selection in town, the Brew Zoo, but many of their offerings were ones that I could get here like Victory and Stoudt’s.

Mount Nittany American Pale Ale – This beer was the first one that I tried. I think it was a good place to start because out of the four beers, this one was the worst. I have a fondness for pale ales because of drinking entirely too much Rolling Rock when I was younger. This one was nondescript at best.

Red Mo American Red Ale – Beer number two went down better. It was closer to Killian’s than anything else I can think of. It was a good solid ale that did the trick.

Slab Cabin India Pale Ale – I’m starting to think I like IPAs more than I expected. This one was hopped perfectly in my opinion. It was definitely more hoppy than your either of the other four beers in this quartet.

Apricot Wheat – Holy apricot taste, Batman. This one to me delivered in the taste department even if you don’t like this type of beer. It had the crispness I associate with wheat beers and obviously apricot. I don’t generally like these types of beers but they’re good to have every now and again. Maybe I’ll hold out until the summer when it’s more appropriate.

The bad part of this review is that my friend Steve in Altoona is a huge Black Mo Stout fan. He says that it’s Otto’s best beer. They doesn’t sell it outside of their stores because they can’t figure out the correct mix to put in a widget ala Guinness to make it taste the way they want it to. Looks like I’ll have to make a trip up to State College the next time I go back to the parent’s place. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

