Wrestlemania 29 (NY/NJ) Previews Part I

TheShield

Since Jeremy agreed that he wouldn’t be doing previews as I had predicted on Monday, I’m going written for the previews. I’m hoping to do two matches a day including on Sunday. We’ll see if it happens or if I end up stacking them up because I can’t get to them. I’ll be separating them into pairs with one good match and one bad match.

Bad Match

Intercontinental Champion Wade Barrett defending against The Miz: We saw The Miz headline Wrestlemania two short years ago in Atlanta. Now he’s get to start the show off…on Facebook/Youtube/WWE App/Tout/Whatever. Wade Barrett was the next big thing until an elbow injury derailed him. I don’t feel bad for the Miz because his character has been stuck in a rut since we last saw him. He was great as a company pitch man when he went on Opie & Anthony recently but it doesn’t change his stale act. I do feel bad for Barrett though. Just as in sports, a man shouldn’t lose his starting job because of injury. I feel like Barrett did. His character got some polishing up during his re-introduction so he’s gone through more change than the Miz. The Intercontinental Belt is a meaningless object though. Most of the time, when someone drops it, they’re finally ready for bigger and better things. Prediction: The Miz becomes the next Chris Jericho and starts racking IC Title reigns.

Good Match

The Shield (Dean Ambrose, Roman Reigns & Seth Rollins) against The Main Eventers (The Big Show, Randy Orton & Sheamus): I’m stretching to put this one in the good category. I have enjoyed the Shield though even if their terrorist inspired videos are too polished. I do think they’ll need to do something more than search for justice after Wrestlemania. I’ve enjoyed the bickering between Big Show and Sheamus. They should be since they were involved in a bitter nearly year long feud. Did I ever doubt that the Big Show would be on the team? Not even when they introduced Ryback who had already been building to a feud with Mark Henry. The match should be a good one as the three season vets should be able to help out a team that hasn’t seen much in ring work in the WWE. Prediction: The Shield finally goes down so we can move on to their next phase.

Leave a Reply

