Wrestlemania 29 (NY/NJ) Preview Part IV

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Since Jeremy agreed that he wouldn’t be doing previews as I had predicted on Monday, I’m going written for the previews. I’m hoping to do two matches a day including on Sunday. We’ll see if it happens or if I end up stacking them up because I can’t get to them. I’ll be separating them into pairs with one good match and one bad match.

Bad Match

World Heavyweight Champion Alberto Del Rio defending against Jack Swagger: The build up has been the most boring of any of these bouts. The hate might have worked better if Alberto Del Rio was a bigger baby face. He hasn’t come close to replacing Rey Mysterio. I really don’t like him any more as a baby face because he still feels so bland. Jack Swagger hasn’t done himself any favors since coming back either. I haven’t been impressed with his in ring work which has been passable at best. His gimmick isn’t doing much for me either. I suppose it’s good that he has a mouth piece but since the gimmick isn’t working I don’t like Zeb Colter. Prediction: Alberto Del Rio sucks slightly less so he retains.

Good Match

CM Punk vs The Undertaker: Aren’t we all glad that William Moody aka Paul Bearer died so that we could have an angle for Wrestlemania? I do wonder what this build up would have looked at without this tragic end to a fantastic mouth piece. I was glad that CM Punk got to sink his teeth into something other than the length of his title reign. I thought the angle ended up pigeon holing him from how he wanted to verbally attack the Undertaker. He did what he could and I enjoyed it but I also thought it was predictable and a little bit boring. The interesting part of this match is that because of the lengthy title reign, CM Punk is a legitimate threat. Undertaker has only made a couple of token appearances in the past year. Punk is a perfect torch handing over guy. Prediction: The streak stands and the internet doesn’t explode.

Leave a Reply

