#SippyTimeBeer Review – 21st Amendment, Magic Hat & Zauber

Magic Hat Elderberry

I had a couple of tasty beverages during Wrestlemania. I actually had a fantastic food and beer day. I’ll concentrate on the beer side of things though. We had dinner at their place so I had:

Magic Hat Brewing CompanyElder Betty – I’m not the biggest Magic Hat fan so I wasn’t sure if I should try this beer but it’s always worth trying especially when your neighbors are the ones who’d have to finish the rest of the six pack. It’s an Elderberry Weiss beer.  Considering that it was a busy and warm day, it was a perfect beer to start off with. I am really getting into the wheat beers. I wouldn’t be able to tell you what an Elderberry is or how it tastes. This beer though had just enough fruit in it to not be overwhelming. It’s definitely worth a try and you’ll need to do that soon because it’s a seasonal beer.

When we came back to my place to watch Wrestlemania, I had two more types of beers.

21st Amendentment

21st Amendent Brewing CompanyBitter American – I couldn’t resist the packaging when shopping earlier in the day. All of their art work was in this style. I love it. It reminds me of companies that use the same art style for all of their products. The first product I thought of was KMFDM’s album cover art. It’s an Extra Pale Ale and also called a Session Ale. On their site, they are very happy because of it’s low alcohol content. It doesn’t really bother me what the alcohol level is but I don’t think it’s something you trumpet. It is a tasty beer though. I think it has more hops than a normal pale ale. I like pale ales because of the lighter hops but it is balanced more than an India pale ale because of the malts that are used. This beer is one of their year round beers so it’s not a rush to grab it but if you like pales & IPAs, this beer is for you.

Zauber Brewing CompanyVertigo – There are a number of breweries that I like in Cbus. Two of them are well established, Columbus Brewing Company and Elevator Brewing Company. The other two are recently established, Four Strings and Zauber. I have steered away from the later two because their distribution is pretty limited. They are both in the same area but I go to Zauber more. They sell growlers Thursday-Saturday in the evening. They also have food trucks there on a regular basis along with rallies when the weather is really nice. I got to taste their new flavor Portergeist & Berzerker (IPA) but I decided to buy the Vertigo growler. After drinking a pale ale, it was another good switch. It is refreshing and has just some hints of clove & vanilla. I don’t get any of the banana flavor. It is extremely tasty although it isn’t my favorite beer from them. If anyone comes to Cbus, I will be sure to take them down there. Jeremy missed their opening by a month or two last year. If you’re lucky, the Ajumama Food Truck which is run by a fellow Kent Stater, will be there selling their Korean street food. It’s extremely tasty even when you try something new like pork belly. -Kevin

Ajumama Pork Belly

Leave a Reply

