#SippyTimeBeer Review – Goose Island, Otto’s and Yard’s

Ottos Hefeweizen Growler

I went back to Pennsylvania back to back weekends to close out April so my weekend writing time was severely limited. My time to drink was not hindered though. Because this week is American Craft Beer week, I will list in chronological order the beers I had and milk this trip for all it’s worth with two different posts.

Otto’s Pub & BreweryHefeweizen – My older brother Ron is also a big fan of Otto’s. He normally has his sister-in-law will buy him a growler and he ends up paying her when they meet up. Since I was there, he had me do the picking up while our parents did the delivering for my nieces dance recital on a later weekend. I picked up two growlers of Hefeweizen. It was a solid beer but was not as crisp and refreshing as most types I’ve tried. If you don’t like the cinnamon and/or nutmeg that are usually put into this type of beer, you will like it because it is not as forward.

Goose Island BrewingSummertime – This beer was so important, I didn’t even Instagram a picture of it. I do remember it being solid. I’ll have to try it again soon for a proper review. Since it’s obviously a seasonal beer, I’ll have to do that soon.

Yards Gen Washington Porter

Yard’s Brewing CompanyGeneral Washington Porter – According to their website, this style of porter was inspired from one of Washington’s original beer recipes that mimicked Philadelphia style porters of the time. Good to know they brewed good beer back then. I remember this porter having one thing in common with Atwater’s Vanilla Java Porter, it was kind of thin. I did like it better though. The bitter coffee taste was not as forward and may have been because of the chocolate providing some sweetness. I didn’t taste the chocolate much either.

The Breckenridge Amber Ale was the best of the six but I closed things strong with the Yard’s General Washington Porter. Go celebrate American Craft Beer week. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

