#SippyTimeBeer Review – Four Strings, Mt. Carmel and Ted’s

Meisters Mt Carmel Four Strings

I had the first two beers while waiting for the seriously delicious deep dish pizza at Meister’s here in Columbus. I’m not normally one to order deep dish because I think it’s entirely too much bread. It’s the house specialty and it gave me a good forty minutes to drink before the pizza arrived. The pizza was a perfect addition to my stomach after a beer and a half. It’s all hand made and worth the wait, especially with an excellent selection of beers.

Four Strings BreweryCherry Blonde – This brewery is another Columbus special. Four Strings only have three beers listed on their site, one of which is Backstage Blonde, but this beer was definitely different. They need to update their site because I also have a Vanilla Porter from them on my Instagram account which isn’t listed either. Back to the Cherry Blonde though, it certainly had the Backstage base but had cherry added to it. The cherry made it a little too sour for my taste in beer. I want to feel refreshed, not to be puckering my lips like I just had a Sour Patch Kid.

Mt. Carmel  Brewing CompanyBlonde Ale – This brewery is out of Cincinnati and it has several tasty beers. This beer though is fairly average. It’s crisp, clean and refreshing but I want an extra punch of flavor in there which it’s lacking. It worked to help wash down a tasty, tasty pizza though.

Ted's Pail Ale

Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing CompanyTed’s Pail Ale – Or at least that the company I believe distributes the beer according to a Google search despite not being listed on Leinenkugel’s site. After I posted a picture of this beer Jeremy gave me his input “Teds us good. stuff”. Setting aside the Jeremese (He has his own language which is displayed quite well in a scant four words and misplaced period), I don’t agree with him. Granted, he’s more of an authority on IPA but I usually like the regular pale ales and it didn’t live up to my standard. Any easy two examples would be a couple of choices in town, Columbus Brewing Company’s Pale Ale and Four Strings Brass Knuckle American Pale Ale. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

