#SippyTimeBeer Review – @ZauberBrewing and Local Beer

Zauber Kolsch

I love local beer. Whether it’s just from the same city or state. Local doesn’t always mean better especially when you go to Tennessee. In the case of my Friday adventure though, it was definitely great. Zauber Brew Master Geoff Towne decided to do a little experiment. He took the same ingredients for their new Kolsch style beer and only changed out the yeast used to create four distinct beers. As a primer, he gave me samples of their Myopic Red, a German Red Alt, and Vertigo, a hefeweizen. Then he poured out the four different styles of Kolsch. We talked about, go figure, beer while I drank the different styles. I haven’t had too many Kolsch style beers so I was concerned. As far as I know, the total has been one (which I haven’t review yet) but since it is German, there’s a solid possibility that I had one while I was in Germany. After tasting all four, I gave him my reviews as had anyone who wondered in to get a growler. Geoff wrote down what I had liked and since they were almost finished with the test batches, he gave me my favorite taste in one of the two growlers I brought, which is pictured above. You’re not going to get much of a choice if you go to some gigantic brewer like Budweiser to sample anything like this. Sure, I didn’t like two of the four. One was tasted like yeast a little too much. But I’d rather test beers out and figure out what I do like which requires some failures. Support your local brewers, whether they’re in town or a few miles around. They’ll get you a libation you love.

I met the owner of Drink Up Columbus, Cheryl Harrison, a couple of years ago at a Twitter meet up for a group called Cbusr. They have some good drinking content that is very local. While I do prefer to expand the scope of my beer intake so that it is more accessible to a larger audience, DUC does that too. I liked their article on the possibility of nutritional information on beer, wine and alcohol. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

