Kevin’s Blog: Open Letter To The Columbus #Crew96

Red Bulls vs The Crew

I might not have any pictures like this on my Instagram account any more. Thanks Crew Sales team for being a bunch of tone deaf morons.

Kevin,

We value your commitment as a Crew season ticket holder and want to ensure we are helping you maximize your season ticket holder experience. To date, your membership score is 65.3 (out of a possible 100 points) of your membership. There are many factors that contribute to your Membership Score, so I wanted to share some suggestions to help you take full advantage of your season ticket holder experience.

I got an email yesterday from the Columbus Crew. After the part of the letter above, they decided to list the ways that I could become more involved with the club. I think their intention was to tell me “You have more stuff you can take advantage of” but I can’t get around the score part of this email. I know I shouldn’t be insulted by it, but I am. Even after getting a “clarification” today, I am still mad because the problems still persists in the apology. We, the fans, were at blame for misinterpreting their email. I didn’t misinterpret anything, you told me I was 65.3% of a fan. How about someone speak up at the sales meeting and say “This is an awful idea that insults the people we are trying to get to purchase more tickets.” Evidently a bunch of spineless cowards works under Mike Malo, Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing, and Tom Bowden, Director of Client Services, who sent the initial email.

The first major purchase I made after my financial crisis was to purchase a full season ticket to the Crew because they are the only team in Columbus that I truly root for. I didn’t go to school at Ohio State. I didn’t even grow up in the state. Though hockey is my favorite sport, I don’t truly root for the Columbus Bluejackets. In fact, I have told their reps, many of them over the years, that I am a Pittsburgh Penguins fan and am purchasing tickets solely to see them play. I am currently holding a pair of half season tickets and a PSL at Nationwide Arena. They realize that the job of a salesman is to be nice to the customer who is forking over his hard earned dough. The Bluejackets to this date have not sent me an email this insulting despite the fact that I tell them I’m actively rooting against their team.

Speaking of hard earned dough, one of the reasons I can afford to have both season tickets to the Crew and the Bluejackets is because I take my job very seriously and work on Saturdays to finish jobs that need to get out of our office. Does that cause me to miss some of the events that the Crew and the Bluejackets host? You better believe it does. It’s pretty clear that Mr. Malo & Mr. Bowden don’t work hard enough at their jobs or else they wouldn’t have sent out such a boneheaded email. Also falling under the hard earned money concept is the fact that I’ve bought tickets for my girlfriend the last two years to multiple games even though she doesn’t like soccer. She wanted to spend more time with me. I went from purchasing single game tickets last year to upgrading her to a 10 game package this year. Maybe since I’m only 65.3% of a fan, I’ll stop purchasing her tickets. Maybe since I’m closer to only being half a fan than a full fan, I’ll down grade to half a season plan. That will help you get to your goal of 10k full season ticket holders, right? Since you have been working on that plan for 3 years now, I’ll go ahead and give you a 0.00 for your rating as a sales team. –Kevin Gold Level Member #2425281 (Not For Long)

One Response

  1. ok pussy, easily offended much?

Leave a Reply

