Dusty’s Blog: Dusty gives out beauty tips

shampoo

I owe my soul to Robert Miquelio.

My hair has been a total disaster lately. I ran out of my regular brand of shampoo a few weeks ago. I was using some hair and body thing. It was doing an adequate job, but I wasn’t really satisfied with its performance. But then I ran out of it, and it was at a time when I owed money on a bunch of bills. Everything came due at once, energy bill, computer bill, water bill. So I didn’t really have a bunch of dough to spend on shampoo, you know?

So what I did was, I compromised. I compromised myself, my principles, my fabric of being. But most importantly, I compromised my hair. I got some el cheapo brand shampoo at the dollar store. Boy have I paid the price. Since then my hair has been dry and itchy. I think I might even be allergic to this brand of shampoo. Things are not wine and roses around the Giebink household, believe you me.

So then I switched to using her shampoo. Not a proud moment, but one born out of necessity as much as anything. But really, any guy will tell you that that is simply not kosher. You can’t be using femme shampoo, especially when you’re sharing it with your significant other. (There’s also the aspect of common courtesy. You’re using up her resources. It’s like getting oil from foreign countries or something.)

So today I had some spare dough, and off to the store I went. I had in mind two things, and two things only. One was to get some laundry detergent. Second was to get some Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ sauce, because we just ran out of that. But third was the most important thing of all. Shampoo.

So I got Dove Hair Therapy shampoo. The picture of it is above. Look at it, in all its splendor. It has a special nourishing oil care feature. It reads below “revives dry, rough & frizzy hair.” It might as well have an “ATTENTION DUSTY GIEBINK” sticker attached to it. It was a calling me name!

Now, totalbeauty.com, which is where I go for all of my beauty tips, gives this shampoo an outstanding 9.4 overall rating. Folks, it doesn’t get much better than that. One reader attests that it makes your hair so much more soft and silky than a normal shampoo. Another stated that it gave them that “just got out of the salon” feeling.

(On a side note, since my barber retired, I have been forced to go to a salon to get my hair cut. There is a gay guy there that is absolutely fabulous. He knows exactly how I want it cut, doesn’t talk too much, but when he does talk, it’s always something interesting, and he seems to genuinely care about how you are doing and whether you like the job he is doing. I highly recommend him if you ever stop by Fond du Lac.)

But anyway, I stand before you a changed man. My care is now bouncy and carefree once more. My scalp is not itchy and gross looking any longer. I feel ready to go another nine innings. And I owe it all to totalbeauty.com.

Leave a Reply

