#SippyTimeBeer Review – Blackbeard, Kona and Singha

Blackbeard Ale

Virgin Islands Brewing CompanyBlackbeard Ale – I would provide a link to the brewer normally but they don’t have a website. What’s the use of a website? It’s not like people go to them. I did get a laugh out of reading the label, which read that the beer isn’t produced in St. Thomas or even the Virgin Islands any more. It is brewed in Wisconsin somewhere. I bet Dusty secretly runs VI Brewing out of his apartment. This beer hit the spot as we wondered around a group of vendors set up outside. It wasn’t the best English Pale Ale I’ve ever had though. I wouldn’t have guessed it was a pale though because it tasted more malty than anything else. Unfortunately, this beer was the only local one I got to try on the cruise.

Kona Brewing CompanyLongboard Island Lager – Back when I went to the Columbus Winter Beerfest, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to get Kona beers because of their origin in Hawaii. Boy was I wrong. I’ve had it at minor league baseball games (Dayton Dragons & Columbus Clippers) and it’s served in several bars in the area. I had tried Longboard before the cruise, including at both games, and I wasn’t the biggest fan. Unfortunately, when you are on a ship, your beer choices are limited and this was the best one on the list. I enjoy Guinness but I don’t drink it with the frequency I used to. The other good choices on the trip were Bass (solid), Boddington (Behind Guinness & Murphy’s) and two others I can’t remember. I had a Longboard or two with our Jamaican Dream Team of bartenders every night on the ship.

Boon Rawd Brewing CompanySingha Lager – Our cupboards were pretty barren after returning from the cruise. The lady & I hit Bahn Thai for dinner one night to help restock with leftovers. I couldn’t pass up the chance to try a Thai beer. I never mind trying but am trying to figure out if every country imitates Budweiser or if everyone likes the same bland crap so every country produces something similar. Whatever the case is, it had a similar taste profile. If you like Bud, give it a drink.

Jamaican Dream Team

From L to R: Bernard, Ralston & head bartender Mario

Are you wondering what some of the beer terms are, especially when they’re German, French or Dutch in origin? This article from SeriousEats.com helps you with some terminology, especially the German end since they’re alcoholics. Good thing I’m part German. -Kevin

Leave a Reply

